Vote No on HB 3528 in Tennessee, Urgent

Vote NO on HB 3528On Wednesday, March 7, the Tennessee House State and Local Government subcommittee will vote on HB 3528, which exempts municipal, county and state governments from paying HOA fees and assessments by homeowner associations following a delinquent tax sale. This bill is similar to HB 2430 which was scheduled for a vote last week, but no action was taken after Bill sponsor Rep. Judd Mathney realized he did not have support for the bill to pass, and he deferred action.

Although using language slightly different from HB 2430, HB 3528, threatens property values and HOAs by exempting municipal, county and state governments from the obligation to pay fees and assessments any time such government acquires the property through a delinquent tax sale. HB 3528 limits the exemption period to 24-months.

How to Take Action

No other state in the United States gives local governments this exemption from HOA fees and assessments. Thus, it is imperative that our legislators hear from homeowners and industry professionals. Please contact members of the House State and Local Government Committee and ask them to OPPOSE HB 3528 on March 7, 2012.

Thank you for helping us communicate that we will not allow the Tennessee legislature to not unduly burden its constituents with fees that are the responsibility of the true owner of the real estate, not matter who the owner.

Click here to see a copy of the letter I sent to the Tennessee House State and Local Government Subcommittee.

(Note: Ryan Haynes is the Bill sponsor and the Committee Chairman)

Ryan Haynes (R-Knox) 615-741-2264 rep.ryan.haynes@capitol.tn.gov
Tommie Brown (D-Chatt.) 615-741-4374 rep.tommie.brown@capitol.tn.gov
Jim Cobb (R-Chatt.) 615-741-1450 rep.jim.cobb@capitol.tn.gov
Gerald McCormick (R-Chatt.) 615-741-2548 rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov
Larry Miller (D-Memphis) 615-741-4453 rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov
Bob Ramsey (R-Maryville) 615-741-3560 rep.bob.ramsey@capitol.tn.gov
Currey Todd (R-Memphis) 615-741-1866 rep.currey.todd@capitol.tn.gov
Mike Turner (D-Nashville) 615-741-3229 rep.mike.turner@capitol.tn.gov
Kent Williams (CCR-Elizabethon) 615-741-7450 rep.kent.williams@capitol.tn.gov
Beth Harwell (R-Nashville) 615-741-0709 rep.beth.harwell@capitol.tn.gov

 

Vote No on HB 2430 in Tennessee, Urgent

Below is an urgent letter I wrote to State Representatives Beth Harwell and Mike Turner:

Representatives Harwell and Turner,

I am writing to voice my concern about HB 2430 that threatens homeowners and homeowners associations (HOA) by exempting municipal, county and state governments from the obligation to pay association fees and assessments any time these government entities acquire property through a delinquent tax sale.

As you know, more than 40% of all properties in the greater Nashville area are governed by homeowner associations and this legislation irrevocably harms every last one of those homes and condos. A vote to pass HB 2430 is a vote against homeownership and the very underpinnings of our economy. Should HB 2430 pass it would:

• Make remaining homeowners responsible for the deficit caused by the government exemption;
• Make it difficult for HOAs to budget for maintenance and expenses due to the unpredictable liability caused by this government exemption;
• Make it difficult to finance and sell properties governed by HOAs because of the potential HOA deficits;
• Cause more homeowners to default on mortgages because of added expenses that should not be their responsibility; and
• Inevitably, this would lead to further distress in the Nashville real estate market during a time of timid recovery.

No other state in the United States gives local governments this exemption from HOA fees and assessments. Tennessee should not be the first. Please oppose HB 2430 on Wednesday, February 29.

Sincerely,

Grant Hammond, Broker, ABR, SFR, ePRO

How to Take Action

It is imperative that our legislators hear from homeowners and industry professionals. If you are so inclined, please contact members of the House, State and Local Government Committee and ask them to OPPOSE HB 2430 on February 29, 2012.

Ryan Haynes (R-Knox) 615-741-2264 rep.ryan.haynes@capitol.tn.gov
Tommie Brown (D-Chatt.) 615-741-4374 rep.tommie.brown@capitol.tn.gov
Jim Cobb (R-Chatt.) 615-741-1450 rep.jim.cobb@capitol.tn.gov
Gerald McCormick (R-Chatt.) 615-741-2548 rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov
Larry Miller (D-Memphis) 615-741-4453 rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov
Bob Ramsey (R-Maryville) 615-741-3560 rep.bob.ramsey@capitol.tn.gov
Currey Todd (R-Memphis) 615-741-1866 rep.currey.todd@capitol.tn.gov
Mike Turner (D-Nashville) 615-741-3229 rep.mike.turner@capitol.tn.gov
Kent Williams (CCR-Elizabethon) 615-741-7450 rep.kent.williams@capitol.tn.gov
Beth Harwell (R-Nashville) 615-741-0709 rep.beth.harwell@capitol.tn.gov

 

Speak Your Mind

*